Lesson: Control your own Life

There have been so many times that I thought to myself “wow, this has been the toughest year” or “I’ve learned so many lessons this year”, but now I know for sure, no other year has been tougher or taught me a lesson as valuable as the lesson I learned in 2016.

LESSON:  Nothing can teach you that you need to be in control of your life like having other people in control of your life.

So after graduating from University (law school) in 2015, the next step was for me to complete my articles by working hours at a law firm in 2016, and write my Bar exams at the end of the year. I did all that, found a law firm to be attached to, enrolled for my Bar exams and wrote them during December 2016. Looking from the outside, it seemed like my life was headed in the right direction, like I had so much focus and knew what I wanted in life.

The reality was the complete opposite though. I have never in my life felt like I had lost complete control of my life than I did last year. Granted, there have been many other times when I felt like I wasn’t doing what I wanted, or that I wasn’t sure where my life was headed. But the experiences I had during 2016 confirmed that I definitely did not know where my life was heading, I had ZERO focus and I was completely uncertain of what exactly I want in life.

Fast-forward to 2017, new year… So I’m not one of those “New Year, New Me” type of people, but I am a definite believer in a new year being a chance for new beginnings. While reflecting on this past year and trying to set out my goals for 2017, it hit me hard that I was definitely not in control of my life… at all.

I understand that as a young professional (entry level really), I am a newbie and that means I will probably have people telling what to do, when to do it and how to do it. What I realised is that I do not like it. Probably because I felt like I was put in such position because it was what was expected of me and no choice was really given to me. I just felt like I was dragging myself through the year (and life) because waking up was a drag, going to work was a drag, coming home after was a drag… And that is no way to live life… Dragging oneself through life I didn’t have any plans for my days, I just went with whatever came my way and accepted it. Now that the year is over, I realised this was all because I gave up all control of my life to anyone who would like to take control of it.

I have earned the most valuable lesson in my life thus far:

Nothing can teach you that you need to be in control of your life like having other people in control of your life.

20170110_194917
Look at how lovely the sky looked the other day.

I did not like feeling like someone else was in charge of my happiness, my choices and something as simple as controlling my day-to-day activities. That’s why one of my few goals for the year is to not drag myself through life. I had lost motivation, dismissed a lot of my plans and just accepted that life was what it was. But I’m so glad I’m out of that headspace now. My mind is much clearer, I’m more confident in what I want in life and the planning has begun! This is also one of the few reasons why my blog is empty (I deleted my posts from last year). I just feel like when I wrote those posts, I wasn’t sure what direction I was taking (just like in every area of my life). Now I know exactly what I want to do with my blog (yay) and in life!

I hope your start of 2017 was as refreshing as mine!

Thanks for reading!

Xx

Val

One comment

Leave a Reply

